« »
October 9th, 2021

State Party To The Agreement On The European Economic Area

With reference to Council Directive 89/552/EEC of 3 October 1989 on the coordination of certain provisions by law, regulation or administrative action in Member States concerning the pursuit of television broadcasting activities, the Austrian Government and the Government of Switzerland declare that, in accordance with Community legislation in force, they will have the possibility, in the interpretation of the Court of Justice of the European Communities: to take, in the event of relocation, appropriate measures to circumvent their national legislation. Each Party shall define its risk management framework, risk criteria and priority control areas related to safety. The Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA) extends the EU`s internal market to three of the four EFTA countries, namely Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein. Although Switzerland is a member of EFTA, it is not a party to the EEA after voting against accession in December 1992. In the EEA, there is the free movement of goods, services, capital and persons. Citizens of the 28 countries have the right to move freely throughout the EEA – to live, work, start a business, invest or buy real estate, with some minor restrictions in some sectors. Since the creation of EFTA in 1960, the European Community has been EFTA`s main trading partner. In 1972, some EFTA countries signed free trade agreements with the EEC with a view to abolishing import duties on industrial products. This objective was more or less achieved in 1977. The idea of a European Economic Area follows a joint EFTA-EEC ministerial meeting in Luxembourg in 1984, which adopted a declaration on the creation of a European Economic Area and then “space”.

The EEA Agreement shall not affect the rights guaranteed by existing agreements which bind one or more EC Member States, on the one hand, and one or more EFTA States, on the other, or two or more EFTA States, such as other agreements on individuals. B, economic operators, regional cooperation agreements and administrative arrangements, until at least equivalent rights are acquired in the agreement. During the transitional period, both the United Kingdom and other EEA members remain bound by existing obligations under international agreements concluded by the EU, including the EEA Agreement. [14] In January and February 2020, the UK Government ruled out future alignment with internal market rules and virtually ruled out EEA membership at the end of the transitional period. [66] [67] [68] In the case of reduced duties on certain products under bilateral agreements between the Community and certain EFTA States, these duties are considered to be basic customs duties for each of the EFTA States concerned. The Agreement provides for information and consultation procedures at all stages of the Community`s decision-making process. EFTA experts are consulted by the Commission when drafting legislation. The EFTA-EEA States may request consultations on matters of concern. .

. .

Comments are closed.